Distinguished INnovator Operator Awards (DINOs)

dinosaur awards


The Distinguished INnovator Operator (DINO) Award is AMUG's most prestigious honor. It is bestowed upon those with the highest levels of additive manufacturing expertise and a willingness to share that knowledge through contributions to AMUG, its members and the industry it represents.

In 2013, the award became more exclusive, and it's name was changed to reflect the distinguished nature of this recognition. In the past, there were five awards per technology. Now it is 10 awards each year across all additive manufacturing technologies. Formerly known as the Dinosaur Award, the name was altered so that those outside of the AMUG community would appreciate the significance of this award.

Below is a listing of all DINOs.


Andrew Allshorn, At 3D-Squared, Ltd.
Ben Dolan, UC Irvine
Vito Gervasi, Milwaukee School of Engineering
Elizabeth Goode, GoodeInk
Mike Hascher, Eagle Engineered Solutions Inc.

Joe Holland, Hyphen
Bonnie Meyer, Stratasys
Todd Reese, Realize, Inc.
Dan Welker, Yazaki North America
Jack Ziemba, Aristo-Cast, Inc.

2016 DINO recipients

Top (left to right): Andrew Allshorn, Ben Dolan, Vito Gervasi, Elizabeth Goode, Mike Hascher
Bottom (left to right): Joe Holland, Bonnie Meyer, Todd Reese, Dan Welker, Jack Ziemba


Vince Anewenter, MSOE
Derek Ellis, Computer Aided Technology, Inc.
Andrew Graves, Stratasys Direct Mfg.
Steven Kossett, NRRI, University of Minnesota

Stephan Ritt, SLM Solutions
Harold Sears, Ford Motor Company
Ed Tackett, University of California, Irvine
Mark Wynn, Yazaki North America


Mark Barfoot, Hyphen
Scott Crump, Stratasys
Jason Dickman, APP

Stewart Davis, CRP USA
Jim Reitz, Rapid Tech Consulting


Chuck Alexander, Solid Concepts
Brian Bauman, Linked In 3D
Paul Bordner, Laser Reproductions

Todd Grimm, T. A. Grimm & Associates
Terry Hoppe, Stratasys



Bill Braune, Met-L-Flo
Larry Monahan, Becton Dickinson
Brad Palumbo, Phoenix Anal. & Design Tech.
Ken Patton, RapidTech/Saddleback College
Sean Wise, RePliForm

Laser Sintering

Paul Bates, Reebok
David Bourell, University of Texas
Roger Cunningham, Integra
Scott Schermer, SC Johnson
Thomas Starr, University of Louisville

Fused Deposition Modeling

Duane Byerly, Xerox
Mike Littrell, Cideas Inc.
Frank Medina, Univ. of Texas El Paso


Robert Coleman, Mattel
Jason Lopes, Legacy Effects
Dan Mishek, Vista Technologies
Bradley Ruprecht, US Army
Michael Zerbe, Newell Rubbermaid



Bob Dzugan, buyCASTINGS
John Schaefer, DSM Somos
Bret Bordner, Laser Reproductions
Fred Hilbrandt, FBI
Kevin Dyer, InterPro

Laser Sintering

Mike Connor, Integra
Xu Xiaoshu, Farsoon Hi-Tech
Bill Lamey, Boeing
Arnold Zieger, Dalimer
Greg Stein, Northrop Grumman



Bruce Okkema, Eagle Design & Technology
Ron Belknap, Protocam
Jerry Bordner, Laser Reproductions

Laser Sintering

Kevin McAlea, 3D Systems
Sheku Kamara, MSOE
Dr. Dave Bourell, Univesity of Texas
Lance Shanklin, Integra Support



Dr. Paul Jacobs
Dave Rosen
Harold Luper, Huntsman
Steve McDonald, L3

Laser Sintering

Neil Hopkinson, Loughborough University
Richard Smeenk
Graham Tromans, Loughborough University



Troy Kuhn, Chrysler
Mark Abshire, DSM
Jan Richter, Solid Concepts
Ariel Lijenstein, Robtec

Laser Sintering

Chris Huskamp, The Boeing Phantom Works
Steinar Killi, Oslo School
Glideon Levy, University of Applied Sciences
Denny Black, Valeo Sylvania



Carl Dekker, Met-L-Flo
Bruce LeMaster, Applied Rapid Technologies
Tom Mueller, Express Pattern
Lawrence Winnen, Tyco Electronics

Laser Sintering

Gary Rabinovitz, Reebok International
Gary Graf, University of Louisville
Kent Firestone, Solid Concepts
Rick Booth, Advanced Laser Materials



Terry Kreplin, Baxter
Daniel Baker, US Army Benet Labs
R.J. Robinson, University of Kentucky
Igata Tersuzo, INCS
Soeren Griessbavh, V.G. Kunstsofftechni

Laser Sintering

Georgia Theriot, GT Signiture
James Williams, Paramount Industries
Joe Allison, Solid Concepts,
Renee Flynn, Paramount Industries
Philip Conner



Scott Turner, Scicon
Richard Davis Motorola
Gregg Banyon, Delphi
Al DeWitt, Rapid Solutions
Mike Scanlon, Homes Group

Laser Sintering

Ken Davis, University of Louisville
Roger Speilman, Solid Concepts
Brent Stucker, Utah State
Martin Colombo, ATI
Rethia Williams, RMB Products



Bob Zubrickie, Tyco Electronics
Kevin Ayres, FBI
Bob Speer, ALCOA
Jeff Smith, Moeller Design
Scott Sutterer, DSM Somos

Laser Sintering

Derrick Spaven, RPM Solutions
Tim Gornet, University of Louisville
David Leigh, Harvest Technologies



Phill Dickens, Loughborough University
Judy Gill, Raytheon
Mark Horner, The Technology House




Tom Sorovetz, Daimler Chrysler
Beth Israelnaim, Becton-Dickenson
Steve Deak, Hasbro
Kevin Kennedy, Prototech Engineering




Elaine Hunt, Clemson University
Doug Van Putte, Eastman Kodak
Graham Tromans, Rover Group
Dave Flynn, Express Patter




Fred Steinbauer, Pratt & Whitney
Joe DeGuglielmo, Eastman Kodak
Guy Bourdeau, Beckman Coulter
Rob Connelly, Becton-Dickinson
John Mack, General Motors


What is a DINO?

The Distinguished INnovator Operator (DINO) Award recognizes individuals for both their contributions and years of experience with additive manufacturing technology.

Each year, board members review the list of conference registrants and select no more than five DINOs. This exhaustive review considers:

  • Contributions to AMUG (e.g., speaker, volunteer)
  • Contributions to the AM industry
  • Year of hands-on work with an AM technology
  • Willingness to share and assist
  • Skill level
  • And other subjective factors

This makes the DINO Award very prestigious.

New DINOs Coming

Who will it be?

Witness the birth of new DINOs. Attend the Award Ceremony at the annual gala held in conjunction with the conference. For details, visit conference info.

Vince Derek Andrew Steve Stephan Harold Ed Mark Mark Scott Jim Stewart Jason Chuck Brian Paul Todd Terry Dave Neil Graham Richard Harold Steve Paul Troy Mark Jan Ariel Chrisl Steinar Gideon Denny Carl Bruce Tom Lawrence Gary Gary Kent Rick Terry R.J. Soerren Georgia Renee Joe Jim Scott Richard Gregg Al Mike Ken Roger Brent Bob Kevin Bob Jeff Scott Derrick Tim David Phill Judy Mark Tom Beth Steve Kevin Elaine Doug Graham Dave Fred Joe Guy

Learn from a DINO

Attend the 2017 Additive Manufacturing Users Group Conference and discover the tips, tricks and techniques that these experts have honed over the years.

Chicago, Illinois
March 19 - 23, 2017